Linux Today: Linux News On Internet Time.
Search Linux Today
Linux News Sections:  Developer -  High Performance -  Infrastructure -  IT Management -  Security -  Storage -
Linux Today Navigation
LT Home
Contribute
Contribute
Link to Us
Linux Jobs


Top White Papers

More on LinuxToday


LWN: kernel.org cryptographic policy change

Jan 27, 2000, 23:55 (0 Talkback[s])
(Other stories by H. Peter Anvin)

"After extensive consultations with our legal counsel, we believe that we have found a reasonable method of supporting cryptography on kernel.org. Consequently, the following change in kernel.org policy will take effect Monday Feb 14, 2000 at 22:00 UTC (14:00 PST, 17:00 EST, 23:00 MET) *UNLESS OTHERWISE IS INDICATED BEFORE THEN* (in case the situation changes.)"

"a) Cryptographic Open Source software will be permitted on kernel.org. For binaries, *the source must be available on kernel.org*. This will need to be strictly enforced, so contributors, please stick to this rule."

"b) We can no longer support official mirrors in the following countries, or allow other official mirrors to be listed as supporting them: Afghanistan, Cuba, Iran, Iraq, Libya, North Korea, Sudan, Syria or Yugoslavia. (The situation with Yugoslavia is a bit tricky, since the regs only apply to Serbia, specifically. If we end up having someone wanting to set up a Montenegrine mirror, we'll deal with it then.)"

Complete Story

Related Stories: