dcsimg
Linux Today: Linux News On Internet Time.





More on LinuxToday


Linus Torvalds: Linux 2.5.24

Jun 21, 2002, 02:56 (10 Talkback[s])

WEBINAR:
On-Demand

How to Help Your Business Become an AI Early Adopter


Kernel.org Mirrors

Full Changelog

Hmm. I'm making ready to leave for the kernel summit and OLS, and so are
apparently other people - since I was mailbombed by various patches in the
last few days.

However, now it's too late - I'm leaving early tomorrow morning, and
anybody who left their pre-OLS sync this late is just _too_ late.  
Phththhthh..

Big sound merges, NTFS merge, IrDA, IPv6, SCSI drivers, you name it. Rusty
"it's two l's, dammit!" Russell sent in about a million of his trivial
patches, hopefully they got somewhat correctly attributed and merged.

Oh, and IDE 93 should undo the damage of IDE 92.

See you in a week,

                        Linus

-----

Summary of changes from v2.5.23 to v2.5.24
============================================

<ac9410@bellsouth.net>:
  o 2.5.23 i2c updates 1-4

<arnd@bergmann-dalldorf.de>:
  o fix lots of warnings about 'struct tty_driver'

<asl@launay.org>:
  o ACPI warning fix
  o Re: nbd.c warning fix

<bombe@informatik.tu-muenchen.de>:
  o Fix bashisms in scripts_patch-kernel

<cananian@lesser-magoo.lcs.mit.edu>:
  o 2.5.23: missing tqueue.h in cpia_pp.c

<gnb@alphalink.com.au>:
  o tons of small patches through Rusty 'TRIVIAL' Russell

<james@cobaltmountain.com>:
  o typo in jazz_esp.c
  o typo in smt.h
  o Typo in radeonfb.c printk()

<lm@work.bitmover.com>:
  o Make the find command ignore BitKeeper files throughout

<manik@cisco.com>:
  o More __builtin_expect() cleanup in favour

<pdelaney@lsil.com>:
  o Fusion driver update

<willy@debian.org>:
  o Convert cm206 to a tasklet

<wli@holomorphy.com>:
  o buddy system comment
  o convert BAD_RANGE() to an inline function
  o beautify nr_free_pages()
  o remove unnecessary headers from mm_page_alloc.c
  o remove unnecessary parentheses from expand()

Adrian Bunk <bunk@fs.tum.de>:
  o Patch to fix all known linux/tqueue.h compile errors

Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de>:
  o Another RAID-5 XOR assembly fix

Andreas Dilger <adilger@clusterfs.com>:
  o TRIVIAL EPERM -> EACCESS

Andrey Panin <pazke@orbita1.ru>:
  o add unlikely() into add_timer()

Anton Altaparmakov <aia21@cantab.net>:
  o NTFS: 2.0.9 release. Decompression engine now uses a single buffer
    and other cleanups
  o NTFS: Fix typo
  o NTFS: 2.0.10 - There can only be 2^32 - 1 inodes on an NTFS volume

Benjamin LaHaise <bcrl@redhat.com>:
  o export default_wake_function

Dave Jones <davej@suse.de>:
  o udpated 3ware driver from vendor

Dave Kleikamp <shaggy@kleikamp.austin.ibm.com>:
  o Fix races in JFS threads
  o JFS: Yet another truncation fix
  o JFS does not need to set i_version.  It is never used
  o Exclusive access to JFS journal devices
  o JFS: recalc_sigpending has no argument
  o JFS: fix fsync
  o JFS: Use new list_move function

David Mosberger <davidm@napali.hpl.hp.com>:
  o nasty bug in free_pgtables() (for ia64)

David S. Miller <davem@nuts.ninka.net>:
  o Sparc64: Update for CPU hotplugging changes
  o drivers/net/sungem.c: Include linux/tqueue.h
  o drivers/md/md.c: Fix typo, struct dname --> dev_name_t

Edward Peng <edward_peng@dlink.com.tw>:
  o dl2k gige net driver update

Greg Kroah-Hartman <greg@kroah.com>:
  o drivers/hotplug/cpqphp.h must include tqueue.h

Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>:
  o this patch fixes the migration init to correctly work with the new
    hot-pluggable CPU enumeration method, and the possibility to not
    boot on CPU#0.
  o small UP optimisation from Mikael Pettersson and James Bottomley,
    modified

Jaroslav Kysela <perex@suse.cz>:
  o ALSA update

Jean Tourrilhes <jt@hpl.hp.com>:
  o IrDA update 1/2: cache-wait-data fixes
  o IrDA update 2/2: big header and initcall cleanup

Jeff Garzik <jgarzik@mandrakesoft.com>:
  o Update 8139cp net driver to support NIC-specific statistic dumps
  o Update 8139 net drivers for the following fixes
  o Add extended attribute syscall numbers to alpha port
  o Add NIC-specific stats and register dumping to 8139too net driver

Jens Axboe <axboe@suse.de>:
  o uninline elv_next_request()

Kai Germaschewski <kai@tp1.ruhr-uni-bochum.de>:
  o kbuild: Link netfilter from parent dirs
  o kbuild: clean up net/802/Makefile
  o kbuild: clean up generated files in net/802
  o kbuild: improve net/khttpd file generation
  o Make net_dev_init() an __initcall
  o kbuild: clean up drivers/scsi firmware generation, part 1
  o kbuild: cleanup drivers/scsi firmware generation, part 2
  o kbuild: cleanup drivers/scsi firmware generation, part 3
  o kbuild: Introduce $(obj), $(src)
  o kbuild: Shipped file fixes
  o kbuild: Revert automatically building modules
  o ISDN: Make ISA-only drivers depend on CONFIG_ISA
  o kbuild: Fix net/llc/Makefile
  o kbuild: Add $(obj), $(src) for generated files
  o ISDN: Small fixes from -dj
  o ISDN: Add #include <linux/tqueue.h>
  o ISDN: Add drivers/isdn/hisax/avma1_cs.c from 2.4
  o ISDN: Add #include <linux/init.h> to drivers/isdn/hisax/avma1_cs.c
  o ISDN: s/ioremap_nocache/ioremap/g

Linus Torvalds <torvalds@home.transmeta.com>:
  o Fix UP compile by having the trivial cpu_online_map
  o Don't remove zero-sized files. Some of them might be real
  o Fix up various odds and ends after big merges
  o Linux version 2.5.24

Martin Dalecki <dalecki@evision-ventures.com>:
  o IDE 93

Neil Brown <neilb@cse.unsw.edu.au>:
  o Don't lock array for START_ARRAY
  o Md sync: Remove compiler warning that revealed a bug
  o Make ITERATE_MDDEV work on non-SMP

Robert Kuebel <kuebelr@email.uc.edu>:
  o 3c509.c - 2_2
  o namespace.c - compiler warning

Robert Love <rml@tech9.net>:
  o preempt-safe do_softirq
  o mark 3 variables as __initdata

Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>:
  o Futex bugfixes
  o Async Futex
  o Fix SMP compilation with 'multiquad' driver
  o trivial: reiserfs whitespace
  o Trivial TAP_TUN patch to remove minmax macros

Stelian Pop <stelian.pop@fr.alcove.com>:
  o include <linux/tqueue.h> in pcmcia drivers
  o export ioremap_nocache to modules

Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>:
  o make kstack_depth_to_print and some APM stuff static
  o dup_task_struct can be static
  o ext2 statics
  o ipv6 statics
  o Consolidate sys_pause