Linux Today: Linux News On Internet Time.

PR: GNOME Foundation Elections - Preliminary Results

Dec 12, 2003, 16:45 (0 Talkback[s])

The GNOME Foundation Membership & Elections Committee is pleased to announce the preliminary results for the Board of Directors.

Special thanks go to Jonathan Blandford and Greg Leblanc who helped us find and work around some bugs caused by an old perl module.

We strongly encourage everyone to look at the detailed results to verify their ballot. You can also run the software used to count the results to verify that these preliminary results are valid.

These results can be challenged by sending an e-mail to elections@gnome.org. The challenges have to be sent before Friday, December 19, 2003, 23:59 UTC. Please note that these results should not be considered final until any such challenges have been resolved.

Candidates in order of votes received, with affiliations:

Owen Taylor (172 votes) - Red Hat Inc.
Glynn Foster (171 votes) - Sun Microsystems Inc.
Jody Goldberg (167 votes) - Novell Inc.
Jeff Waugh (165 votes) - Flow Communications
Luis Villa (160 votes) - Novell Inc.
Jonathan Blandford (157 votes) - Red Hat Inc.
Nat Friedman (156 votes) - Novell Inc.
Leslie Proctor (134 votes) - None
Bill Haneman (128 votes) - Sun Microsystems Inc.
Dave Camp (124 votes) - Novell Inc.
Michael Meeks (119 votes) - Novell Inc. [*]
Malcolm Tredinnick (109 votes) - CommSecure
Sri Ramkrishna (102 votes) - Intel

[*] Per the Foundation's charter, no more than 40% of the board directors may share a corporate affiliation. There is 11 directors, so this means that no more than 4 directors may share a corporate affiliation. Michael is the fifth-leading vote-getter from Novell Inc., and is thus ineligible to be elected.

If the results are not challenged, then the elected directors will be:

Owen Taylor
Glynn Foster
Jody Goldberg
Jeff Waugh
Luis Villa
Jonathan Blandford
Nat Friedman
Leslie Proctor
Bill Haneman
Dave Camp
Malcolm Tredinnick

Some figures about the votes: there were 337 registered voters. 191 voters sent valid ballots. Two ballots were invalidated because the voters chose more than eleven candidates.

The results can be found at

Detailed results can be found at

Instructions to verify the results can be found at http://foundation.gnome.org/elections/2003/verify.html

The Committee would like to thank all the voters and all the candidates.

The GNOME Foundation Membership & Elections Committee

Eric Baudais
Andy Tai
Ghee Teo
Vincent Untz

Les gens heureux ne sont pas presses.