Linux Today: Linux News On Internet Time.

More on LinuxToday

Outercurve Foundation Changes Bylaws and Governance

Nov 02, 2010, 19:33 (0 Talkback[s])


Re-Imagining Linux Platforms to Meet the Needs of Cloud Service Providers

Formerly Codeplex-- does changing the name change the organization? --ed.

Outercurve Foundation Changes Bylaws and Governance

Changes will increase diversity of Board of Directors, create sponsor member classes, and recognize committers

Wakefield, MA. November 2, 2010 - The Outercurve Foundation today announced changes to its bylaws and governance documents designed to create diversity at the board level and support the foundation's growth as an evolving community of open source technical leaders and contributors. The Foundation's Board of Directors voted the bylaws into effect on November 1, 2010.

The changes enable the increase of the size of the foundation's Board of Directors, create new sponsor membership classes, establish funding tiers for corporate and gallery sponsors, provide for the establishment of a Technical Advisory Board, and recognize and indemnify project committers.

The expanded Board of Directors may include up to 12 seats. Two are reserved for founding sponsor Microsoft (seats currently held by Tony Hey, Corporate Vice President-External Research, Microsoft and Stephanie Davies Boesch, Director of Program Management, Developer Division, Microsoft); two at-large seats are reserved for industry luminaries (currently held by Sam Ramji, Vice President of Strategy, Apigee and Jim Jagielski, President, Apache Software Foundation and Senior Consulting Software Engineer, office of the CTO, Red Hat); up to four will be reserved for new corporate sponsors, and up to four will be reserved for project committers who have served one year on the Technical Advisory Board.

Also included in the governance changes is a provision for the establishment of an eight-member Technical Advisory Board, to be comprised of gallery and project leaders and project committers. The first Technical Advisory Board will be formed in 2011.

Under the new bylaws, all Gallery Managers, Project Leaders and Committers will be afforded new recognition and indemnification in the same manner as is provided to the Foundation's Officers, Employees and Agents.

"We continue to evolve as an organization to support our mission of increasing participation between software companies and open source communities, and we believe these changes will help attract the participation of additional corporate and gallery sponsors," said Paula Hunter, Executive Director, the Outercurve Foundation. "We're pleased with what we've accomplished since our inception and look forward to our second year as a growing organization with a membership comprised of software companies and senior, strategic open source developers." The Outercurve Foundation currently has three galleries and eight projects. Galleries include the ASP.NET Open Source Gallery (five projects), the Systems Infrastructure and Integration Gallery (two projects) and the recently-announced Research Accelerators Gallery (one project.)

For more information on the Outercurve Foundation, visit www.outercurve.org. To view the new bylaws, visit http://www.outercurve.org/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=PIYqQY5rEog%3d&tabid=93.

About The Outercurve Foundation

The Outercurve Foundation is a not-for-profit foundation created as a forum in which open source communities and the software development community can come together with the shared goal of increasing participation in open source community projects. For more information about the Outercurve Foundation contact info@Outercurve.org