dcsimg
Linux Today: Linux News On Internet Time.





Happy One Billion Seconds, Unix!

Sep 09, 2001, 01:46 (9 Talkback[s])

As of right now (01:46:40 UTC, September 9), Unix is 1 billion seconds old.

As Open Projects.net announced earlier:

Help us "party like it's 10e9 - 1" on Open Projects Net IRC. Just come to irc.openprojects.net, channel #Billennium. The festivities start at 1e9 - 14400, but we don't expect the party to really get jumping before 1e9 - 5400. That's:
  • Saturday, September 8, 2001 at 20:16 in New York City, USA.
  • Sunday, September 9, 2001 at 02:16 in Brussels, Europe.
  • Sunday, September 9, 2001 at 10:16 in Canberra, Australia.
Fred Mobach announced:
The Open-Source BBQ-Party 2001 in the Netherlands is announced at http://people.nl.linux.org/~nlobbq/ . The unorganized Free Software types are gathering in an old fortress of the Waterlinie, the centuries old defence line against attackers coming from the East ;-).

We'll celebrate the 10th anniversary of Linux -the kernel, you know- and the "miljardste" (10^9) second from the Unix-EPOCH. Some, like Mendel, will stay there the night. Other like me will sleep in their own bed. But we'll meet and celebrate :-). Sorry to leave you now, I must go to get my train.

And Hans Schou Announced:

We have a conference in Denmark where some of the speakers are Peter H. Salus, Paul Vixie and Rob Pike. We will party to late night and have some champagne:

For more information http://www.uptime1.dk/