Linux Today: Linux News On Internet Time.

LinuxPR: ActiveState Awards Presented at O'Reilly Open Source Conference

Aug 01, 2002, 03:00 (0 Talkback[s])

ActiveState is pleased to announce the winners of the 2002 Active Awards, presented at the O'Reilly Open Source Conference in San Diego, CA.

The Active Awards are held annually to honor members of the open source community who *actively* contribute to open languages and display excellence in their programming efforts. The categories include each of ActiveState's key technologies: Perl, PHP, Python, Tcl, and XSLT.

Programmers' Choice Award winners were nominated and chosen by the open source community. This year's winners are:

  • Perl & XSLT: Matt Sergeant, author of over 50 modules on CPAN and inventor of the AxKit, an XML applicaton server for Apache.
  • PHP: Greg Allan, was the lead developer and founding member of the PostNuke project.
  • Python: Robin Dunn, creator/maintainer of wxPython.

Activators' Choice Award winners were chosen by ActiveState's development team. This year's winners are:

  • XSLT: Jeni Tennison, a regular contributor to the xsl-list and leader of the EXSLT project.
  • PHP: Derrick Rethans and Jani Taskinenis. Derrick is heavily involved in developing processes for QA and Release Management, and Jani has been one of the largest contributors to QA and support of the Bug database.
  • Perl: Andy Dougherty, the granddaddy of Perl porters and pumpkings.
  • Python: Alex Martelli, co-editor of the Python Cookbook.

Congratulations to all our nominees, and thanks to everyone who participated. For more details click here.

Press Release

Related Story:
LinuxPR: Vote for Your Favorite Open Language Programmer(Jun 04, 2002)