Linux Today: Linux News On Internet Time.

More on LinuxToday

4 EFF Pioneer Awards Winners for 2010 Announced - I am one of them

Oct 20, 2010, 19:03 (3 Talkback[s])
(Other stories by Pamela Jones)


Desktop-as-a-Service Designed for Any Cloud ? Nutanix Frame

"The Electric Freedom Foundation has announced four winners of their EFF Pioneer Awards for 2010. I am a winner this year.

"When I heard the news, I got goosebumps. Previous winners of the EFF Pioneer Awards include Tim Berners-Lee, Linus and Richard Stallman. This is a day I'll remember. I never ever thought this was something that would happen. I feel the acknowledgment for me and our body of work here on Groklaw, and it feels very good. Thank you, EFF.

"The others this year are Steven Aftergood, James Boyle, and Hari Krishna Prasad Vemuru. From the press release:

""These winners have all worked tirelessly to give critical insight and context to the tough questions that arise in our evolving digital world," said EFF Executive Director Shari Steele. "We need strong advocates, educators, and researchers like these to protect our digital rights, and we're proud to honor these four Pioneer Award winners for their important contributions."...

"Awarded every year since 1992, EFF's Pioneer Awards recognize leaders who are extending freedom and innovation on the electronic frontier. Past honorees include World Wide Web inventor Tim Berners-Lee, security expert Bruce Schneier, and the Mozilla Foundation and its chairman Mitchell Baker, among many others.

"Tirelessly. Well. I do get tired sometimes. But it's so nice to know someone noticed the effort. Boyle, if you recall, wrote the wonderful cartoon book on fair use, Bound by Law, although the award is mainly for his scholarship on threats to the public domain. The awards ceremony will be in San Francisco, my favorite US city, on November 8, and BoingBoing's Cory Doctorow will host. Does it get any better?"

Complete Story

Related Stories: