4 EFF Pioneer Awards Winners for 2010 Announced – I am one of them

“The Electric Freedom Foundation has announced four winners of
their EFF Pioneer Awards for 2010. I am a winner this year.

“When I heard the news, I got goosebumps. Previous winners of
the EFF Pioneer Awards include Tim Berners-Lee, Linus and Richard
Stallman. This is a day I’ll remember. I never ever thought this
was something that would happen. I feel the acknowledgment for me
and our body of work here on Groklaw, and it feels very good. Thank
you, EFF.

“The others this year are Steven Aftergood, James Boyle, and
Hari Krishna Prasad Vemuru. From the press release:

“”These winners have all worked tirelessly to give critical
insight and context to the tough questions that arise in our
evolving digital world,” said EFF Executive Director Shari Steele.
“We need strong advocates, educators, and researchers like these to
protect our digital rights, and we’re proud to honor these four
Pioneer Award winners for their important contributions.”…

“Awarded every year since 1992, EFF’s Pioneer Awards recognize
leaders who are extending freedom and innovation on the electronic
frontier. Past honorees include World Wide Web inventor Tim
Berners-Lee, security expert Bruce Schneier, and the Mozilla
Foundation and its chairman Mitchell Baker, among many others.

“Tirelessly. Well. I do get tired sometimes. But it’s so nice to
know someone noticed the effort. Boyle, if you recall, wrote the
wonderful cartoon book on fair use, Bound by Law, although the
award is mainly for his scholarship on threats to the public
domain. The awards ceremony will be in San Francisco, my favorite
US city, on November 8, and BoingBoing’s Cory Doctorow will host.
Does it get any better?”