The Eighth Annual International EFF Pioneer Awards: Call for nominations

             Please redistribute this notice in appropriate fora

   In every field of human endeavor, there are those dedicated to
   expanding knowledge, freedom, efficiency, and utility.  Along the
   electronic frontier, this is especially true.  To recognize this, the
   Electronic Frontier Foundation established the Pioneer Awards for
   deserving individuals and organizations.

   The Pioneer Awards are international and nominations are open to all.
   The deadline for nominations this year is March 10, 1999.  Nominations
   must be sent to pioneer@eff.org.

   In March of 1992, the first EFF Pioneer Awards were given in
   Washington D.C.  The winners were: Douglas C. Engelbart, Robert Kahn,
   Jim Warren, Tom Jennings, and Andrzej Smereczynski.  The 1993 Pioneer
   Award recipients were Paul Baran, Vinton Cerf, Ward Christensen, Dave
   Hughes and the USENET software developers, represented by the
   software's originators Tom Truscott and Jim Ellis.  The 1994 Pioneer
   Award winners were Ivan Sutherland, Whitfield Diffie and Martin
   Hellman, Murray Turoff and Starr Roxanne Hiltz, Lee Felsenstein, Bill
   Atkinson, and the WELL.  The 1995 Pioneer Award winners were Philip
   Zimmermann, Anita Borg, and Willis Ware.  The 1996 Pioneer Award
   winners were Robert Metcalfe, Peter Neumann, Shabbir Safdar and
   Matthew Blaze.  The 1997 winners were Marc Rotenberg, Johan "Julf"
   Helsingius, and (special honorees) Hedy Lamarr and George Antheil.
   The 1998 winners were Richard Stallman, Linus Torvalds, and Barbara

   The 8th Annual Pioneer Awards will be given in Washington, D.C., at
   the 9th Conference on Computers, Freedom, and Privacy in April of

   All nominations will be reviewed by a panel of judges chosen for their
   knowledge of computer-based communications and the technical, legal,
   and social issues involved in computer technology and computer

   This year's judges are Mike Godwin, Bruce Koball, Hal Abelson, Lorrie
   Cranor, Phil Agre, and Simona Nass.

   There are no specific categories for the Pioneer Awards, but the
   following guidelines apply:

    1. The nominees must have made a substantial contribution to the
        health, growth, accessibility, or freedom of computer-based

    2. The contribution may be technical, social, economic, or cultural.

    3. Nominations may be of individuals, systems, or organizations in
        the private or public sectors.

    4. Nominations are open to all, and you may nominate more than one
        recipient.  You may nominate yourself or your organization.

    5. All nominations, to be valid, must contain your reasons, however
        brief, for nominating the individual or organization, along with a
        means of contacting the nominee, and your own contact number.
        Anonymous nominations will be allowed, but we prefer to be able to
        contact the nominating parties in the event that we need more

    6. Every person or organization, with the single exception of EFF
        staff members, are eligible for Pioneer Awards.

    7. Persons or representatives of organizations receiving a Pioneer
        Award will be invited to attend the ceremony at the Foundation's

   You may nominate as many as you wish, but please use one form per
   nomination.  You may return the forms to us via email to:

   Just tell us the name of the nominee, the phone number or email
   address at which the nominee can be reached, and, most important, why
   you feel the nominee deserves the award.  You may attach supporting
   documentation in Microsoft Word or other standard binary formats.
   Please include your own name, address, phone number, and e-mail

   We're looking for the Pioneers of the Electronic Frontier that have
   made and are making a difference.

   Thanks for helping us find them,
   The Electronic Frontier Foundation

  Alexander Fowler
  Director of Public Affairs
  Electronic Frontier Foundation

  E-mail: afowler@eff.org
  Tel: 415 436 9333; Fax 415 436 9993

  You can find EFF on the Web at <http://www.eff.org>

  EFF supports the Global Internet Liberty Campaign


Get the Free Newsletter!

Subscribe to Developer Insider for top news, trends, & analysis