LinuxPR: ActiveState Awards Presented at O’Reilly Open Source Conference

ActiveState is pleased to announce the winners of the 2002
Active Awards, presented at the O’Reilly Open Source Conference in
San Diego, CA.

The Active Awards are held annually to honor members of the open
source community who *actively* contribute to open languages and
display excellence in their programming efforts. The categories
include each of ActiveState’s key technologies: Perl, PHP, Python,
Tcl, and XSLT.

Programmers’ Choice Award winners were nominated and chosen by
the open source community. This year’s winners are:

  • Perl & XSLT: Matt Sergeant, author of over 50 modules on
    CPAN and inventor of the AxKit, an XML applicaton server for
  • PHP: Greg Allan, was the lead developer and founding member of
    the PostNuke project.
  • Python: Robin Dunn, creator/maintainer of wxPython.

Activators’ Choice Award winners were chosen by ActiveState’s
development team. This year’s winners are:

  • XSLT: Jeni Tennison, a regular contributor to the xsl-list and
    leader of the EXSLT project.
  • PHP: Derrick Rethans and Jani Taskinenis. Derrick is heavily
    involved in developing processes for QA and Release Management, and
    Jani has been one of the largest contributors to QA and support of
    the Bug database.
  • Perl: Andy Dougherty, the granddaddy of Perl porters and
  • Python: Alex Martelli, co-editor of the Python Cookbook.

Congratulations to all our nominees, and thanks to everyone who
participated. For more details click here.


Related Story:

LinuxPR: Vote for Your Favorite Open Language Programmer
04, 2002)

Get the Free Newsletter!

Subscribe to Developer Insider for top news, trends, & analysis